Fan of Full Fathom Five? Be sure to check it out at its new home!

Friday, August 10, 2007

NASOH: Call for Papers

North American Society for Oceanic History and the Council of American Maritime Museums 2008 Annual Conference

Hosted by the University of West Florida Pensacola, Florida

"Defining the Maritime Edge: The History and Archaeology of Inland Environments, Coastal Encounters and Blue Water Connections," the 27th Annual Conference of the North American Society for Oceanic History (NASOH) co-sponsored by the Council of American Maritime Museums, will be hosted by the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida, May 7-11, 2008. The Conference Program Committee invites proposals for papers and sessions exploring all aspects of history and archaeology related to saltwater or navigable freshwater environments. Suggested areas of research include, but are not restricted to, archeology and anthropology, arts and sciences, history, or museum exhibitions. Proposals that identify the unique characteristics and influence of coastal and inland waters and explore their interfaces with the larger Continental or Oceanic Worlds are especially encouraged.

The Program Committee welcomes the submission of individual papers and full sessions, preferring panels with three papers and a chair. Proposals should include a brief abstract for each paper or a one-page abstract for panels and brief C.V.s for each participant, including chairs. Graduate students are strongly encouraged to submit proposals for presentations. Accommodations for PowerPoint presentations will be provided; however, any other requirements, including audio-visual equipment, special outlets, or accommodations for disabilities should be included in the proposal. Scholars interested in chairing sessions are welcome to send a brief C.V. to the Program Committee Co-chairs. Please note that all participants must register for the conference. Specific questions may be directed to Program Committee Co-Chair, Bill Thiesen at The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2008.

Send or email submissions to the two Program Committee Co-Chairs listed below:

Victor T. Mastone and John O. Jensen

Co-chair, NASOH Program Committee Co-chair, NASOH Program

Board of Underwater Archaeological Resources Sea Education

251 Causeway Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 6

Boston, MA 02114-2199 Woods Hole,
MA 02543

Program Committee:

John O. Jensen, Sea Education, Co-Chair

Victor T. Mastone, Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Co-Chair

William H. Thiesen, United States Coast Guard, Co-Chair

James M. Allan, St. Mary's College

Cathy Green, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration

C. Douglas Kroll, College of the Desert

Timothy G. Lynch, California State Maritime Academy

Christopher P. Magra, California State University-Northridge

Salvatore R. Mercogliano, Central Carolina Community College

Amy M. Mitchell-Cook, University of West Florida

James M. Morris, Christopher Newport University (emeritus)

Brian J. Payne, Old Dominion University

Gene A. Smith, Texas Christian University

Channing M. Zucker, United States Navy (ret.)

No comments: